BIG MATCH 2023

The annual Big Match encounter between Colombo International School and Wycherley International



School took place on the 8th of April. The day began with both teams taking their team photographs, followed by the hoisting of the team flags by the respective captains: Santosh Shailendra of CIS and Budvin Senevirathne of WIS, along with the national flag raised by the Principal of WIS Mr D.L. Fernando. Whilst the teams were warming up, the team captains were invited to the centre, along with the match referees and umpires, to

commence the toss. CIS won the toss on a grassy wicket and chose to bowl first, much to the delight of our players and spectators.

Play began at 10.00 am with Mahith Panagoda going out to bowl the first ball to the WIS opener. It didn't

take long for the WIS opening partnership to collapse, with Mahith taking the first wicket. Wycherly, however, then went on to build crucial partnerships with their highest scorer Dishan Samarasinghe scoring 70 runs. Karmeha Sharma was also excellent with the ball, picking up 3 wickets. However, Wycherly had the upper hand, finishing their 50 overs with a score of 221 runs.



After lunch, the players rushed out, energized and eager to continue the game. WIS were able to break the opening partnership of CIS early on; however, a crucial partnership between Amr Cassim and Mahith Panagoda was then able to stabilize the innings for our team. Overall, things weren't looking good for CIS though, as wickets continued to tumble and soon CIS were 9 down for 165. Chakshu Premaratne and Nikhil Peiris set up a valiant fight back as they took the score all the way to 215 with one wicket left in hand. Sadly, this fight was in vain as the final wicket fell and the ground was stormed by WIS supporters celebrating a victory by 6 runs.

Amr Cassim was awarded the Best Batsman and Karmeha Sharma the Best Bowler. The Man of the Match award was given to Dishan Samarasinghe of WIS for his valiant 70 runs, which helped WIS win the latest match of the Lalith Athulathmudali Memorial Challenge Trophy.