



Standing left to right: Ashwin Laksumanage, Rahul De Silva and Jasmine Markandu

COLOMBO INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL'S Team A was crowned Champions of the *Vijitha Weerasinghe Memorial Online Debate Tournament 2020* after defeating Wesley College A in the final of the tournament in an emphatic 4-1 decision. CIS A, comprising Ashwin Laksumanage, Rahul De Silva and Jasmine Markandu, maintained an unbeaten record throughout, with four consecutive wins in the preliminary rounds.

On their road to victory, CIS A defeated teams from Methodist College, Museaus College, St. Thomas' College, Ladies College and Asian International School. Colombo International School's Team B also clinched two convincing victories in the preliminary rounds.

In addition to the admirable display of skill and capability, debaters from CIS displayed outstanding individual performances, ranking among the top 10 speakers of the tournament. Jasmine Markandu, Ashwin Laksumanage and Rahul De Silva were ranked 8th, 6th and 3rd Best Speaker respectively, rounding out a resoundingly successful day for the CIS Debating Society.